“Who are you?” They asked.

I’m still working on the answer.

Jonathan Fors
1 min readJan 16, 2023
Photo by Ivan Lapyrin on Unsplash

The question of who you are can be phrased in two primary ways;

“Who do you think you are?” where there is an assumption of bad intent, and “Who are you?” as in I’m curious to get to know you.

Regardless of which version is being asked, the answer is always equally blurry.

Am I that guy who moved abroad and never looked back? The one who has always felt a lack connection with people in his surroundings? Or am I perhaps that dude who “made it” as a young entrepreneur?

I could say I’m just me, but then what does me even mean? Can I google me and get a predefined answer suggested to me from Wikipedia?

I doubt it. But then again, I’ve never tried.

Asking friends might do the trick, they’re sure to define me in some kind of way. So is that what I am then — a person based on a definition as seen by people around me?

…I don’t have an answer. But maybe that’s just it, there is no answer.

--

--

Jonathan Fors

Life is unexpectedly fun, and sometimes goes to shit but that’s the best part. So just enjoy it.